Annual Meeting

The 111th Annual Meeting of the Association of Physicians of Great Britain & Ireland will be held on

Thursday, 6 and Friday, 7 April 2017 at University College London


Register Now!

Early Bird Deadline 8 March 2017




Dear Colleagues,

As 2017 President of the Association, it gives me great pleasure to welcome you to London for the 111th Annual meeting and to draw to your attention some of the particular highlights of the programme we have on offer.

The meeting will be held in the Darwin Lecture Theatre, University College, on Gower Street. In addition to an outstanding scientific programme, on Thursday morning, the George Griffin Lecture will be given by the recently appointed head of the Health Research Authority, Jonathan Montgomery addressing key issues for all clinical investigators in his talk Making the U.K. a great place to do research - opportunities and challenges”.  On Thursday evening there will be a chance to visit the newly-opened Francis Crick Institute with a drinks reception hosted there and a welcome from the Research Director, Sir Peter Ratcliffe. Following this, the annual dinner will be held at the Royal College of Physicians, with the after dinner address given by the College President, Professor Jane Dacre. On Friday afternoon, we will break new ground with the First joint Association of Physicians – Academy of Medical Sciences Symposium, chaired by myself and Sir Robert Lechler, with leading scientists discussing the state of the art in “Targeted Therapeutics”.

We do hope you will book early and join us for a celebration of all that is excellent in the Association.

Professor David Lomas

Vice Provost (Health), UCL

Programme Highlights

Thursday, 6 April 2017

The Osler Lecture The George Griffin Lecture
The Hippocampus as a Cognitive Map: From basic curiosity-driven science to the clinic Making the U.K a great place to do research - opportunities and challenges

Prof. O’Keefe FRS FMedSci,
Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience in the Department of Cell & Developmental Biology, Division of Biosciences, Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine 2014



Prof. Jonathan Montgomery,

Professor of Healthcare Law,

University College London

Chair of the Health Research Authority







Association of Physicians and Academy of Medical Sciences

Joint Symposium: Targeted Therapeutics,

Friday, 7 April 2017

Co-Chaired by

Professor David Lomas,

Vice Provost (Health) at University College London

President Elect of the Association of Physicians

of Great Britain & Ireland

Professor Sir Robert Lechler FMedSci,

Vice Principal (Health) at King's College London

President of the Academy of Medical Sciences






We do not store credit card details nor do we share financial details with any 3rd parties