About Us

The Association of Physicians of Great Britain and Ireland was founded in 1907 by a group of London based consultant physicians, many of whom held teaching hospital posts.

In 2007, The Association supported M West, of Cardiff School of History and Archaeology, Humanities Building, Cardiff University to document its heritage. Click here to download The 'One Hundred Years of an Association of Physicians' 

Since the early days the Association of Physicians of Great Britain and Ireland has prospered. With the exception of small gaps during the First and Second World Wars, the Association has met annually at venues throughout Great Britain and Ireland. These meetings have continued to promote the aims of the Association to “advance internal medicine” in a manner that “promotes friendship amongst Physicians”.

The meetings of the Association have always been characterised by presentations of the highest quality, and represent many of the best achievements of academic medicine throughout Britain and Ireland. This continues to be the case and the Association remains a key focus for the promotion of clinical academic excellence.


Executive Commitee 2018

AND IRELAND 2018 – 2019

At its Annual Meeting at 3:00 - 3:15 p.m. on Thursday, 12 April 2018, at Renold Building, The University of Manchester, The Executive Committee beg to nominate the following:

President: Professor Neil Hanley
President Elect: Professor Dame Anna F Dominiczak
Honorary Secretary: Professor Colin Dayan
Honorary Treasurer: Professor Salim Khakoo
Executive Editor for QJM: Professor Seamas Donnelly

Members for England and Wales
Professor Edwin Chilvers
Professor Andrew Fisher
Professor Rebecca Fitzgerald
Professor Alastair J.M. Watson
Professor Melanie Newport
Dr Menna Clatworthy
Professor Andrew Godkin

Members for Scotland
Professor Christian Delles
Dr Jesse Dawson
Dr Robert Semple

Members for Ireland
Dr Cecilia O’Kane
Professor Richard Costello

Honorary Members
Professor Sir Nilesh Samani
Medical Director
British Heart Foundation
Professor Raymond Playford
Professor of Medicine
Plymouth University
Professor John O’Keefe
Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience in the Department of
Cell & Developmental Biology, Division of Biosciences at UCL
Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine 2014

Ordinary Members
The Executive Committee nominate the following:
HANIFFA, Muzlifah, BSc, MRCP, DPhil, PhD, CCT
HALSEY, Christina, BA(Hons), BM BCh, MRCP, FRCPath, PhD

Transforming the AoP for the future

(January 2018)

Following feedback from our members, we are making changes to ensure that the Association of Physicians is the home of Translational Medicine and our annual meeting (APAM) is the leading Translational Medicine event in the UK:

- We have increased the number of plenary lectures at APAM from two to four

- Closer links with the Academy of Medical Sciences with a joint Career Development Workshop on day 1 and a joint symposium on day 2 of our meeting

- Increasing networking opportunities with colleagues with an integrated evening event on day 1

- Focussing our meetings around regional centres of excellence – Manchester and the NW 2018; Glasgow and Scotland 2019.

- We are increasing our grant funding opportunities for trainees


We would be delighted to hear from members regarding the future of the Association and APAM.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.